Ji-Lan & Wallace | Strawberry Farms Golf Course

A thoroughly modern love story…..

“They met on an online dating site and she made the first move.”  Ji-Lan will forever be grateful for that first message she sent to Wallace on OK Cupid.  In her words, “I was attracted to his profile for two reasons.  First, the computer program suggested that we were 95% compatible.  For a consistent high achiever like me, I thought 95%=A!  To this day, our nerdy joke is that “we were brought together by a computer algorithm.”  Second, Wallace actually started off his profile with a limerick…and it was a good limerick!  I thought, “hey, if this works out, I can expect lots lots of romantic poetry!” (which turned out to be a false expectation, by the way :).  Wallace’s profile picture had a giraffe in the background (he had just returned from a trip to Africa).  So I used that as a conversation starter.  I messaged him that I could use a giraffe these days. He messaged me back, and asked me why I need a giraffe.  I told him that I live in a loft, and I’d appreciate a giraffe to help me reach the very high windows.  After another couple of exchanges, Wallace asked me out on our first date, at the LA Zoo, to see the newborn baby giraffe, Sophie.  Over a year later, Wallace is now living with me in our loft, though those high windows are still in desperate need of some cleaning! :)”  Romantic poetry or not, Wallace definitely won Ji-Lan over for good.

These two celebrated their love at the beautiful Strawberry Farms Golf Course on a warm June day.  Their vows conveyed the love and history between them, that is sure to last a lifetime.  They honored their family heritage by performing the Chinese bowing ceremony in which they bow to the earth, their family and each other.  Planning their wedding was a real labor of love for them as well.  Ji-Lan made all the directional signs, place cards and table numbers.  She even surprised Wallace with a cake topper in tribute to his favorite show, the Simpsons.  Being a video game designer, Wallace made their own video game for he and Ji-Lan to play the night of the wedding.  The game took them through their first few dates, engagement and of course a beautiful wedding with the Strawberry Farms barn in the background.

Take a look!

Vendors:
Venue: Strawberry Farms Golf Club
Photographer: David Crane Photography
Florist: Linda Lo Studios
DJ: Carlos Zavala with LB Entertainment
Makeup: Sally Lee of Sally Hair ‘n Makeup
Cake: Layer Cake Bakery
Photo Booth: Sterling Photo Booth

Leave a Reply

